Sunday, July 17, 2011

Harry Potter!

Today was the day. It all ends this year, the Harry Potter ride is finally over. We went to see the premier at midnight on Thursday (only $4!!), but first we had to make it through class. School wasn’t so hard today, we spent most of the time reviewing for our test on Friday and doing our oral presentations. Mine was on the system of conservation in Costa Rica and I think it went well, it seemed to keep the class interested! After class I met up with my lunch group and we tried a new restaurant down the street. It was a little cafĂ© that had great food and deserts. I got a taco soup thing and an amazing fruit tart for desert. I went back to the house after to study for my Spanish exam and take a prep nap for Harry Potter! My evening class went well, but I swear that the other anthro girl in my class cannot be an anthro major. She does not seem to be culturally sensitive in any way and she always asks the dumbest questions… I decided to quiz her by asking about Frans Boaz (I had seen an article about him in the newspaper here). I told her about it and said “oh this is something that should interest you too!” but she didn’t seem to recognize the name and she just said oh that’s nice… For the security of my discipline I must think that she’s actually taken any anthro classes, she must be in her first year. After Randdie and I got back from class we started to prep for Harry Potter. I was really excited because it was the first time I had been to the midnight premiere!
 We left the house at 10:30 for the theater; we didn’t even have to take a taxi because we were going with Angel and her friend Carolina whose mom had a car. So the four of us got to the theater early to pick up our tickets and wait in line for the theater to open up (don’t worry, I was a good student and took my notes with me..). While we were waiting I wanted to get a picture of us in front of the Harry Potter ad. We were also trying to take a picture in front of the big cardboard display. Carolina asked a man to take our picture and he said that he was with the Nacion, the big newspaper here and that he would take our picture for the paper (he had a press pass)! He took our picture and got our names and said to check the paper tomorrow to see if we made it in. We checked the next day, but didn’t see our picture…  I guess we didn’t make the cut..
The movie was awesome! I thought it would be hard to stay awake that late for a movie, but it was so exciting that I didn’t even realize it was late. I am definitely planning on seeing it again! When the movie got out we followed the wave of people out of the Multi-Plaza del Este, however, unlike them we didn’t need to wait around for a taxi. Carolina’s mom came to get us! It was an awesome bonus for me since I had to get to bed quickly because I had a Spanish test in the morning…  I didn’t get to bed till 3, but Harry Potter was just so worth it! 
Sorry its blurry... me, Randdie, Angel, Carolina 

Darn flash and evil red-eye!

No comments:

Post a Comment